ULTAmate Haul

So for everyone that lives here in the U.S. knows that Ulta is a beauty wonderland. They previously just had an epic sale where select high-end products are on sale, called the 21 Days of Beauty. The beautyholic that I am, had to take complete advantage of this opportunity. And even though I wasn’t able to splurge and get every deal I wanted, I went after the ones that I would get the most use out of. I haven’t had a chance to try all of the products mentioned, but I’ll let you know what worked for me and what didn’t. I also recently splurged and got some hot new products for the summer, that will be at the end of the post.

IMG_1207.JPG

First thing I got was a face wash from Philosophy. I’ve never tried anything from Philosophy before but I’m looking forward to trying this out and potentially adding it to my skincare routine.

IMG_1208.JPG

On this same day, I got this translucent loose powder from It Cosmetics. I’ve used it and I like it, the only thing I don’t like about it is how messy it is.

IMG_1209.JPG

The next product I got was the Stila One Step Correct Primer. I have been using this everyday for priming. I’m not entirely sure if this is good for color correcting, because I feel that it doesn’t really do that for me. But it’s great as just a normal primer to keep your makeup lasting all day.

IMG_1210.JPG

I bought this highlight from Smashbox in the pink tone. For me personally, I think it may be too light for me or something, because when I apply it, it doesn’t even look like I applied anything. But I’m still playing with it and figuring out the best way to apply it.

IMG_1211.JPG

I was excited to see something from Urban Decay that was half off. It was the Sheer Revolution Lipstick, and I believe it’s in the shade Native. I only used this once so far, and I liked the way it looked and made my lips feel.

IMG_1213.JPG

I think this product was the one I was most excited for and that was the Perfect Flush Blush from Too Faced in the shade, Candy Glow. I admit, I have only tried this once, but I do like the glow it gives my face a healthy glow.

IMG_1216.JPG

On this same day, I got cleansing wipes from Philosophy. Even though I have been using these everyday since I bought them, they’re not my favorite. They do a great job getting my makeup off and making my skin feel refreshed.

IMG_1218

I’ve been very open to trying different eyeliners lately, and I got this Clay Paint Eyeliner from Tarte. I only used it once, and I liked it and how pigmented it was. However I wouldn’t use this everyday because it’s very difficult to get it to look thin. It’s just meant to look thick and make eyes look dramatic.

IMG_1217.JPG

 

I think this next product I was the most curious of trying and it’s the Too Faced Lip Injection Lip Gloss. I don’t completely hate my lips, they’re not Kylie Jenner status, but they’re not too thin either. I felt some tingling, little stinging, but it did not make my lips look plump at all. I’m just glad I didn’t pay full price for this.

IMG_1220.JPG

Next I got the Lights, Camera, Lashes Mascara from Tarte. I tried it once, and it seemed to work just fine at first, but the curl in my lashes came out after 10 minutes. But in reality, only waterproof mascaras really keep my lashes curled. Maybe I’ll get a better result from the waterproof formula.

IMG_1221.JPG

I also got the Smashbox Photo Finish Primer Water. I’ve been using it everyday since I bought it, and it really does a good job at setting my makeup.

IMG_1222.JPG

This Eyes Are the Window Palette, in Soul, from Stila, I was pretty excited for. I’ve used it a couple of times, and the shadows are very pigmented and are very long lasting.

IMG_1225.JPG

Along with that palette, I got this Japonesque blush in Shade 1. It’s very pigmented and comes off beautifully on my skin.

IMG_1227.JPG

All of the steals I mentioned before this were all good for one day. Everyday they would have 1 or  2 steals, but they would only be good for one day only. But each day had a different one. But this next product was what they called a “hot buy” which was good throughout the entire duration of the sale. I only got one and it was the Japonesque Liquid Foundation in Shade 5. I’m not sure if this is exactly my perfect shade, but I love the way it applies to the skin, and gives it a sort of flawless finish.

IMG_1228.JPG

That was it for the 21 Days of Beauty Sale, now on to some products I actually picked up today. I know you’re going to look at this, and you’re just gonna think that I have enough eyeshadow palettes, why would I need more? Because I’m obsessed that’s why. They are both from Too Faced, the Peanut Butter and Jelly Palette, and the Sweet Peach Palette.

IMG_1230.JPG

I was actually very skeptical about getting the PB&J. Part of me wanted to see what the hype was because when I first saw it, it didn’t give me that feeling of, “OMG! I have to have it!” It doesn’t really have any colors I normally wear, but I think it would be good for me to get out of my comfort zone and try using new shades I’m not used to.

IMG_1232.JPG

As for the Sweet Peach Palette, when I first saw it, I got that feeling of, “OMG! I have to have it! Now!” This palette is been in such high demand since it’s release. Originally it was only available on the Too Faced website, and then later Sephora, Ulta, and HSN. Every time I would try to get it, it’s always sold out. Then I went to my local Ulta, and there it was. This palette, I feel has a little bit of everything from some nudes, peach tones, a little pop of color, browns, and some darker shades. I also think that this palette will help me try new colors and help me get out of my comfort zone.

IMG_1234.JPG

I think it’s safe to say that I’m pretty set on makeup for a while. I’m in no way trying to brag about what I got, I just wanted to share with you what products I think are worth buying, especially at half price, so take advantage of those opportunities when you get them. Also, I apologize that I haven’t been posting everyday. My schedule can be pretty hectic making it difficult to post everyday. I’m doing the best I can to post everyday. Also, I started a Tumblr if you want to go check that out. It’s http://beautyamateurhour.tumblr.com and I’m not even really sure of how to use it, and I’m just trying to figure it out. But don’t worry, this will continue to be my main source of blogging. I know that was very long, and you are just absolutely awesome if you made it all the way. I hope you found this post helpful about any products you want to try or are thinking of trying. Thanks again for reading!

 

 

9 thoughts on “ULTAmate Haul

  1. BeautyliciousStyle says:

    If you are looking for an amazing non waterproof mascara try Estee Lauder’s Sumptuous Extreme. I used to only wear waterproof mascaras also before I stumbled onto this one. I use an eyelash primer first (Estee Lauder has a great one!) that you can use with their mascara. I have a post on the primer and the mascara is in my monthly favorites this month. Great post! I want the Too Faced Peaches palette ! Lucky girl! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • beautyamateurhour says:

      Thanks! I really love my waterproof mascaras, but sometimes I just wish I had some non-waterproof mascara that isn’t difficult to remove haha. But I’ll definitely need to go check out that mascara you recommended. If you love the chocolate bar palettes, you’ll love the peach one, it’s just a matter of finding it. I splurged a little today at Ulta, but totally worth it! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

