Kylie Jenner Lip Kit: Is It Worth the Hype?

Today I have a very exciting and long post for you all. Everyone is raving about the Kylie Jenner Lip Kit, and during last week’s restock, I was lucky enough to get my hands on one. I’m going to give my own little experience and review, and then I’ll explain if I really think it’s worth the hype.

First the actually ordering it was quite a process. I had the page up of the exact lip kit I wanted about 5-10 minutes before it went live. When it finally became available, I added the lip kit to my cart. Then I proceeded to check out, and that’s where it became difficult. The page kept going down, and I kept refreshing. After refreshing the page a few times, I was able to put in all of the billing and shipping information, and I went to officially check out, the page again crashed, and once it got up again, my cart was empty. So I proceeded to repeat the process and the site just kept going down. Then I decided to check my email, and I received an email saying my order was received. I was victorious.It took about 3 days to receive an email saying that my order had shipped. And the order came in the mail about 6 days after ordering.

Each lip kit is $29, and there is a flat shipping rate of $8.95, and with tax, the whole order for one lip kit comes to about  $40. I know this is very expensive, and I am in no way telling you, you need to go yourself one. This is actually the most I have paid for a lipstick, but I think it’s worth it.

IMG_1200.JPG

Each kit comes with a lip liner and  liquid matte lipstick. I got the shade, Candy K, which is a nice pinky nude. And the lipstick smells like cupcakes, similar to some Nyx liquid lipsticks and lip glosses. They are designed to be used together, and I can’t really imagine using it any other way. They dry pretty quickly, and look beautiful.

IMG_1201.JPG

I wore it the other day, all day at work, and I ate a burger, and when I came home about 7 hours later, it was still on. I noticed while drinking my lemonade, there was lipstick on the cup, but when I looked in the mirror, it looked as if nothing came off. But I lightly applied just a little more, just in case.

IMG_1205.JPG

So overall, do I think it is worth the hype? My answer is yes and no. I do think it is worth the hype because of the formula. After it dries, it feels like I’m not even wearing any product, which is good, because it doesn’t make it feel sticky or like it is going to come off easily. I haven’t found any lipstick that lasts as long as this one yet, but I will search for a more affordable alternative. The reason why I don’t think it’s worth the hype is because everyone is just making it a big deal because of who it came from. I’m not hating on Kylie Jenner and her iconic plump lips, but because her name is on it, I think that is partially the reason why people are making it a big deal. By the way, this lip kit DOES NOT make your lips look more plump, they just add color, that’s all.

I know, I will be purchasing it again for the formula, not because it is from Kylie. It could be from anyone, and I would still get it. I hope you enjoyed reading this, and I hope it helped you or gave you any tips for your shopping experience with Kylie Cosmetics. If you made it this far into this post then congrats to you, because I’m about to give you some scoop.

The lip kits are being restocked today in less than half an hour, April, 5th, at 4 p.m. PST. I know I will be online, going for another victory. Let me know if you decide to buy one and if you are lucky enough to get one! Thanks for reading!

UPDATE: I just got another one and one for my mom. Checkout was super quick and easy. They restocked at 4 on the dot, and I got a confirmation email at 4:02. Hurry and go yourself one before they sell out!

8 thoughts on “Kylie Jenner Lip Kit: Is It Worth the Hype?

  1. thetypicalbeautyblog says:

    Nice to see such an honest review! I thought the same thing, mainly people are going for it because of the celebrity status behind it! But to see that you will be purchasing it again for the formula is enlightening as I love products that feel lightweight! Maybe it’s worth a try! Thanks for the post !

    Liked by 1 person

    • beautyamateurhour says:

      Thanks! To be honest I never really cared about the Kardashian/Jenner clan. But I saw that everyone was raving about this lip kit, and I wanted to try it out for myself. I really liked Candy K, but some of the other shades I bought weren’t as great as this one. I just think people are way too caught up trying to be like Kylie Jenner, that they could care less about the formula, if that makes sense.

      Liked by 1 person

      • thetypicalbeautyblog says:

        Yeah! totally get it, I’m actually a kardashian fan but still never thought to purchase the lip kit as I did not think it would be worth the hype, as there are so many other cosmetic companies out there like MAC which have much better ‘experience’ in making lipsticks aha!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

